Torn From the Dead – Part 2

Brains?

This is the second installment of my Torn From the Dead narration of the text based zombie survival game Zafehouse. Find the first part here.

__________________________________________________________________________________________________

The following excerpts were found in the township of Salem, in the State of Maine. Here is the unedited texts from that journal. It has yet to be confirmed whether the people in question are still with us, or have turned. The town itself was reclaimed two months ago, one of the last to be contained after the initial outbreak.

7:00pm: We’re all in for the night, it seems. I keep on strengthening the barricades on the building, but I don’t like seeing a house of God turned into a fortress. Kim helps where she can, but her injured leg makes things difficult. She tells me I’m the only person who doesn’t have a weapon. Well, at least I’m setting an example. If I live through the night.

September 4th

12:00am: The waiting was killing me, but this was worse. We heard panicked voices on the radios, first Mel at the store, and then Louise at the Mansion. It seems they were just gathering in these last few hours, not merely wandering aimlessly. No one was hurt, but the shock of it was enough. I’m redoubling my efforts to get the Church safe, but there isn’t much else I can do but wait and tend to Kim.

2:00am: Again the muffled voices on the radio. I was half asleep when they came through, trying to get enough shut eye to allow Kim to doze while I stood guard. It was the hospital and the workshop this time. Again no one was hurt, but just the knowledge that they are out there, waiting to strike is more terrifying than the actual moment they attack, I think. I’ve lost count of the amount of times I’ve said the Our Father.

4:00am: Oh God, they attacked. I don’t know how we survived, but I can just thank the Lord that Kim seems to know her way around that shotgun. I know now that these people aren’t sick; they’re damned. They came at my barricades with a fevered frenzy that was enough to shake my faith. I don’t know how we held them off, but I’m still here, although my barricades lie in ruins. Dawn comes soon, and then we can forage for more. Please Lord, see me through this ordeal.

6:00am: We’ve made it, the sun has risen like the light of God and dispersed the hordes. I survived the night thanks to Kim’s steady aim and my makeshift barricades. I won’t leave the church today, the tower serves as a beacon for those yet to find us. Stephanie is being sent over to prepare the building for the survivors while the others go out for supplies. Where is our Government now?

7:00am: The barricades are almost restored. Stephanie didn’t come, leaving me with Kim. Her leg means she can’t walk too much, so staying back here is probably the best thing for it. Paul is leading a mob around the town, killing all the damned they find and pillaging whatever may be of use. It should all be over soon; the army must be clearing townships methodically. It’s the only explanation as to why they aren’t here yet.

8:00am: Thank God, help is on it’s way. The old wireless in the warehouse picked up a military signal claiming that they army was just under a day and a half away. We just have to survive long enough to be rescued. More survivors keep joining us, and joining Paul’s mob. The man is cold, I can see that now. I think he’d sacrifice any one of us to survive.

9:00am: We were told to watch out by Paul, the groups are getting larger and he expects an attack on one of the buildings soon. I don’t think I can handle seeing the townspeople like that again, and our barricade barely held them back the last time. I’ve half a mind to ask Paul for a weapon, just in case.

11:00am: Every time they go out there are reports of larger groups of them. Jessica is swamped with minor injuries, keeping everyone functioning. Apparently a few of them are showing signs of fever and infection. Is whatever turned these good people infectious? We can only pray that isn’t the truth.

3:00pm: Still no attack. I’m not sure if that’s a good thing. At least if they kept coming we’d be thinning out their numbers before dark. Paul has a small army outside now, too many to house tonight. I don’t know what he’s going to do with those who have nowhere to go. I have a horrible feeling that he’s just going to leave them to die.

5:00pm: I… I’m not sure what to write. Jessica is dead. I guess that’s as good a place to start as any. They attacked the hospital with at least a dozen, and the sounds of her screaming will haunt me till my dying day. I think they ate her. I’m not sure what to think anymore. Other places were attacked, but they were better fortified. Better manned. Poor Jess, I’d known her since she was 4 years old. I hope Paul knows what he’s doing.

6:00pm: It’s all falling apart. We were attacked again, worse than before. Kim held them back, but my barricades are in tatters. God, I don’t know what to do. I need a weapon, something, anything. There’s no way I’ll allow my body to be used for such evil. I’ll radio Paul and ask for something to arm myself with. He must have something. Lord, see us through.

___________________________________________________________________________________________________

More to come. Art credit goes to www.aneyeoni.com

About Phill Cameron

I've graduated, had a look at the world, and spat. Now I'm devoting my time to moving from 3/4 of a games journalist to 9/10ths. I figure I can get away with 9/10ths.
This entry was posted in Games, Literature and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Torn From the Dead – Part 2

  1. Pingback: Torn From the Dead - Part 3 « The Poisoned Sponge

Leave a Reply

