Rambling

Pic Unrelated?

This entry is powered by Lemon Jelly’s Ramblin’ Man.

I honestly can’t think of something to blog about today. I’m probably going to put up a Thoughts about Fantastic Plastic Machine that I’ve been listening to for the past few days, but I’m really not in the mood to get that done right now. So instead, dear readers, you’re going to get a ramble.

Now, just so you’re aware, this isn’t going to be a structured ramble; it shan’t have a topic, and it probably won’t lead anywhere. It’s going to be the sort of cyclical ramble that you take after a mid-afternoon roast at your grandparents house. It’s going to take a while, it’s going to be quite awkward, and you’re going to be tired once it’s done because you just ingested half your bodywieght in meat and then went on a bloody walk.

As it says in my About Me page, I’m a student. It’s the beginning of September now, which means I’m doing bugger all at the moment. I go to the gym most days, but then I’ve already blogged about that, and the rest of the time I spend trying to enlighten myself and blowing up virtual people’s heads. I’m getting rather good at the latter, but the former is an on going struggle.

Enlightenment can take many forms, from epiphany to slow realisation, and both of them are often uncomfortable and usually tend to make everything before seem kind of… crap. Now I’m not saying that I’m any more enlightened than the average person (even though I do like to think the fact I often venture away from the beaten track in my tastes does make me better than the mindless consumer), but I do do a certain amount of inner questioning that can only be healthy, or so I’m told.

Doing a philosophy course tends to expose you to philosophy, and while it’s a mostly regretable outcome, it does mean you get to be a real dick to people when you’re having a discussion with them. The amount of times someone has raised and issue and I’ve smiled smugly and gone ‘Hmmm? Is that really so? You do realise that, according to Spinozah, we’re all merely modifications of the God-substance, and thus anything that occurs is ultimately ineffectual in changing anything at all?’. The look on thier face is usually priceless, as it ranges from confusion to disgust to anger.

The problem with all that is that I know I’m being a dick for the sake of it, and he knows that too. I’m still waiting for Philosophy to drop the motherload on me and slap me in the face, saying ‘Look mate, this is how it really is.” I had a few moments like that while I was doing my A-level course in the subject, but they were mostly down to Ethical Philosophy, and so I don’t actually think I’ll be getting to that until I start delving into Ethics.

For me, that’s all Philosophy is good for; figuring out right and wrong, definitively. It’s all very well for Descartes to claim that there’s no way of knowing whether we’re just some brain in a vat, but how does that help our ethical views? I guess if you believe him then you could be some sort of crazed killer and it wouldn’t matter, but that’s hardly helpful. It’s when someone tries to hammer out an ethical code based on philosophy that I really start to pay attention.

I’m not really sure where I was going with that, but I probably gave you an unwanted and unsolicited glimpse into the workings of my mind, and I hope it hasn’t estranged you.

About Phill Cameron

I've graduated, had a look at the world, and spat. Now I'm devoting my time to moving from 3/4 of a games journalist to 9/10ths. I figure I can get away with 9/10ths.
This entry was posted in Misc and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Rambling

  1. Seniath says:

    If it makes you feel any better, I’ve no idea what you just wrote either, nor do I have a clue if it makes sense.

  2. xthepoisonedspongex says:

    Good, then I’m not going crazy. Does this class as a manifesto? I’m inclined to think not.

  3. ilovemint says:

    Ah, philosophy. It can either be your claim to supposed intellectual superiority or it can make your head swim so bad you forget where you are.

    Well, I would say that ethics is just one of the myriad purposes philosophy serves…I think it’s real use is the one it was founded on, the root the word is derived from, ‘love of wisdom’.

Leave a Reply

