Thoughts: Prison Break Series 4

That's a certified look, right there.

Prison Break is an odd tv show for me. I got into the first season about half way through, then watched it pretty solidly all the way through to the end of last year, when they had escaped from Sona and the whole thing ended due to the Writer’s Strike. Now it’s back, but something’s been lost in the in between months.

Don’t get me wrong, Prison Break has never been a truly brilliant show. It’s not a House, or a Battlestar Galactica, and it’s certainly not The Wire or Generation Kill (two shows you MUST watch), but it had it’s own charms. It started out as a brilliant nail biter, but now it’s becoming a little tired. The same tricks are used again and again to generate suspense, and while it’s still there, I’m becoming slightly irritated at it.

I suspect that that irritation is my own, and not really the fault of the program. You watch Prison Break because it’s full of suspense and tension. Just because I’m getting bored of that genre (if you can call it that) doesn’t mean the show should stop doing it, but then it’s not just the constant cliff hangers that I’m getting annoyed at.

I’m going to try and avoid spoilers as much as possible, but there was one instant in the second episode of this double bill special that barely even made sense. Our heroes needed to break into a well guarded house, which is fair enough, the reasons (flimsy as the set up was) were valid. However, the execution to get inside relied on behaviour patterns so damn unlikely that it was laughable. Their entire plan hinged on the owner of the house they were trying to break into would disarm his alarm to go and check out his nieghbour’s alarm going off. WHAT? How does that even make sense? The man’s thought pattern must be the hieght of stupidity. ‘Oh dear, the next door neighbour’s alarm just went off. That means there is a high chance of burglers being about. I know, I’ll go and gawp on my front porch, disarm my alarm for about two or three minutes and then head back inside. Yes, that’s a good idea.’ Suspension of disbelief only goes so far, Fox.

That’s not to say I didn’t enjoy the beginning of this series, but with the likes of House coming back, I just don’t know if I can be bothered to keep up with this show, as enjoyable as it has been in the past. That Fringe show looks rather promising….

About Phill Cameron

I've graduated, had a look at the world, and spat. Now I'm devoting my time to moving from 3/4 of a games journalist to 9/10ths. I figure I can get away with 9/10ths.
This entry was posted in Media and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thoughts: Prison Break Series 4

  1. newfcollins says:

    Agreed. I thought there were way too many rushed portions of last night’s espisode (getting out of Sona, getting the gang together, having them all arrested again so quickly, etc. etc.). That’s the sort of thing that should be spread over half a season or so, not an epsiode.

    It will be interesting to see if they’ll kill off any more of the main characters. And if they do, how long before they bring them back (such as the whole Sara storyline).

  2. xthepoisonedspongex says:

    You’re right, that was all rather odd. I would laugh if Sarah died again, that would be a little overkill but rather welcome to be quiet honest. The scenes with her in were awkward to say the least. I suppose the main benefit of killing off a few of the characters meant that you don’t know who will live or die, which is always nice.

Leave a Reply

