The Fat Cat

And all this time I thought it said 'Free Mouse'.

As promised, I’m going to do an entry on the best local pub near me. That’s a pretty hard title to come by, since I have a total of 6 pubs within a half mile of my new house. Yes, I know, life is pretty good. In advance, I’d like to apologise for the outside shots as it had just started raining, and so they look pretty miserable. Usually it’s quite nice here. Honest.

The Fat Cat won the award for ‘Best Pub in the UK’ a few years ago, I can’t be bothered to find out which year, but I’m sure their website informs you. As a result, they’re rather up market for a local pub in Norwich. I mean they sell Kettle Chips and turnip crisps, for God’s sakes. With this being the case, I’m not sure how much time I’m going to spend there getting drunk with friends, but I think it’ll be nice to just unwind and relax and all that jazz.

Yes, I know, it was raining.

It’s not a very big pub. It’s got a few tables outside, and quite a few inside, but the whole thing is rather narrow. It’s also quite expensive for anything but their own house ales (which hover around the £2.30 mark), but it manages to pull of a feeling that it’s worth it, which is a credit to it, I suppose. I’m not one to criticise a drinking establishment for much beyond price, so I’ll just get on with what’s awesome about The Fat Cat.

The first thing is probably their house ales. They’ve got four (that I’ve seen), three of which are just variations on the same flavour, and then there’s the honey ale, which is rather brilliant. It’s a 4.2% ale, which doesn’t sound all that much, but because it’s an ale, and because it tastes quite a bit like honey, you tend to drink the whole lot in the space of about 5 minutes. Obvious this could create problems if you had more than one or two, as I expect to find out once my housemates actually move in and I don’t have to face the daunting prospect of drinking alone.

Yup. They're on tap. ALL OF THEM.

The next best thing about The Fat Cat is it’s choice. If you don’t fancy one of their cheaper home brews, you’ve got a frankly ridiculous amount of choice of other beers on tap. I was taking the pictures in a somewhat clandestine manner, so excuse the blurriness; I just didn’t want to get beaten up by the rather scary looking barman (who seemed just as friendly). I’m not sure the exact figure, but I think they have close to 30 beers on tap. No one needs that much choice. It only serves to debilitate you.

So that’s the Fat Cat, a pub less than 100 metres from my new house. So that’s 6 pubs, three indians, two chineses, a KFC and a kebab house all within half a mile of my new house. Thank God for the gymn (which I spell so because of this).

About Phill Cameron

I've graduated, had a look at the world, and spat. Now I'm devoting my time to moving from 3/4 of a games journalist to 9/10ths. I figure I can get away with 9/10ths.
This entry was posted in Misc and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Fat Cat

  1. Seniath says:

    I’m teetotal, so can’t really comment on this post. However, I can comment on the fact that it is almost mid-day and you haven’t blogged yet. Where is my lunch time reading!

  2. xthepoisonedspongex says:

    Impatient! Look above!

Leave a Reply

