Cyclical Rain

That's not actually me. I didn't have a rain coat.

I’ve got mixed feelings about rain. Basically everything that isn’t the apocalyptic water based punishment of the Lord isn’t much fun, but everything after that is pretty great. Once you’re soaked through you’re soaked through, so you might as well enjoy it. It’s like swimming without the wieghtlessness. However, when you’re on your bike, trying to get somewhere and your silent wishes for those brooding clouds hovering over your heads to stay brooding fails, it kind of sucks.

This is what happened to me today, as I was on my way to the gym, and it sucked. I was pretty soaked before I even found somewhere to hole up until the worst of it passed, and even then that was just some overhanging branches of a tree. The thing about overhanging branches is that they’re a delaying tactic; those branches aren’t 100% waterproof. Or even 20%. They just hold the water back before dumping the whole lot on your head. Again, this is what happened to me.

So I’m sitting here, having got back from my workout soaked to the bone, with only some bacon and eggs to warm me up. I’ll probably have a shower in a minute, once I can extricate myself from my chair, but until then I’m just going to wallow in it for a little while. Of course the rain has stopped now, and the whole of Norwich is drier than a desert for the entire duration of the time I’m inside, which is pretty typical. So yeah, rain sucks.

About Phill Cameron

I've graduated, had a look at the world, and spat. Now I'm devoting my time to moving from 3/4 of a games journalist to 9/10ths. I figure I can get away with 9/10ths.
This entry was posted in Misc and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

