The Cold Side of the Pillow

Mmmm, cool.

I think this is my third post about sleeping, and I know that’s possibly excessive due to this blog only being around for three weeks, but what can I say, I sleep a lot. This is slightly different to the last two though; instead of being about my inability to wake up, this one’s about trying to get to sleep in the first place. I guess that makes it new and exciting. Or something.

I’m a big bloke (about 6’6″), and so that means most beds don’t fit me, unless they’re made for two people or specially made for me (I actually have a seven foot bed at my parent’s house). Therefore, when sleeping in a normal sized bed, I have to sleep diagonally. That means my head in the top left of the bed, my feet dangling ever to slightly off the bottom right. I do this thing where I tuck the end of my duvet under my feet creating a sort of sling for them so I don’t feel like thier actually dangling. Yeah, I’m a little strange.

Anyway, back to the pillow. I know this has been widely documented, but perhaps it’s relevance and just down right greatness has been widely ignored. I’m the sort of person that likes to sleep with my windows wide open so that I get a breeze wafting over me as I try to sleep. It means I can wrap my duvet around me and just hunker down for the night. However, because I now have a bedroom on the ground floor that’s not so much of an option, and so I have to find a surrogate. The cold side of the pillow is that surrogate.

It serves to cool down my face, tricking my body into thinking that it’s cold too, and thus must use the duvet for warmth. Thus I wrap myself up all tight and get to sleep easier. I just have to make sure that I get to sleep quicker than my face can warm the pillow, or I’ll have to turn it over to get the freshly cooled other side. It’s a balancing act.

So there you have it. Why I love the cold side of the pillow, and my musings on why exactly people prefer it. It’s an important part of my getting-to-sleep ritual (of which I think everyone has one, where they try to recreate the events leading up to sleep the night before. I’m a staunch believer that there is one position that, once found, leads to almost instant sleep, and all the time from getting into bed to sleeping is composed entirely of seeking that position).

About Phill Cameron

I've graduated, had a look at the world, and spat. Now I'm devoting my time to moving from 3/4 of a games journalist to 9/10ths. I figure I can get away with 9/10ths.
This entry was posted in Misc and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Cold Side of the Pillow

  1. stevetheblack says:

    You weirdo…

  2. Claribel says:

    The cold side of the pillow is a treat I save for Saturday/Sunday mornings when I can turn the pillow over and go back to sleep. I used to think there was only one position, until last Saturday afternoon I walked into my bedroom and lay on my bed like a star fish, face down to just express my mood. I woke up in exactly the same position 1 hour later. Deep siesta.

  3. nuyan says:

    I always start reading some interesting but boring academical book when I really want to sleep. It really works for me.

  4. xthepoisonedspongex says:

    For some reason this comment was marked as spam and because I’m quick with the delete button I can’t restore it. Thank God for the ‘back’ button:

    For me, getting to sleep is less of a ritual and more of a race. I suffer from (I think) Restless Leg Syndrome. Once I hit the mattress, my legs become a pair of ticking time bombs; If I lie there for too long without drifting off, the RLS kicks in and it suddenly gets about 10 times harder to fall asleep.

    The worst part is, sometimes merely thinking “oh my legs aren’t hurting yet” can start it off. Not fun.

    From Seniath

  5. Seniath says:

    Ah, there it is. I’d included a link in that originally, maybe that’s why Akismet decided I was a filthy spammer?

  6. xthepoisonedspongex says:

    Haha probably. I’m still not sure myself.

Leave a Reply

