My Etnies

Like slippers, but more comfortable.

I was on my way to a friend’s house last night and the topic of conversation turned to shoes. You see, my mate (who just moved into the house yesterday) has recently been to Arizona and bought some cowboy shoes. They’re a tad ridiculous, but then that seems to suit his personality, so they don’t actually seem as proposterous as it would first seem. Anyway, he was claiming that they were as comfortable as a pair of slippers. He was, of course, wrong. This got me thinking about my Etnies.

I bought them roughly a year ago after one of my other friends was claiming how comfortable they are. I’d been needing a pair of casual shoes and I was willing to fork out the £50 needed for the shoes. You see, as I’ve previously mentioned, I’m a rather big bloke (6’6″) and thus I have rather big feet (size 14 UK). This means that finding good shoes is a bit of a challenge at the best of times, so I’ve learned to do most of my shoe shopping on the interwebs.

So I bought the above pictured shoes and ever since they’ve been almost exclusively what I wear. Of course if it’s a smart event I’ll wear my laufers (I think that’s how it’s spelt), and I’m not exactly going to go running or play a rugby match in these, but then you can already assume that. For everything else though, the Etnies are king.

I’m not really sure how they work; there’s a lot of cushioning, but not so much that you feel like you’re walking on marshmallows. They’ve got these wierd elastic bits inside them that help keep it all snug, but beyond that I really don’t understand them. Comfort of that magnitude must have some sort of complex technology behind it.

Anyway, this is all probably starting to sound like a Etnies promotional piece, and, to be honest, they kind of deserve it. They’re bloody awesome shoes, and if (and when, judging on how quickly I usually go through shoes) I need another pair, I’m going to get some more Etnies.

About Phill Cameron

I've graduated, had a look at the world, and spat. Now I'm devoting my time to moving from 3/4 of a games journalist to 9/10ths. I figure I can get away with 9/10ths.
This entry was posted in Misc and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My Etnies

  1. Seniath says:

    This is what, the second reference you’ve made to your height. Pics or it didn’t happen!

  2. chriswales says:

    I love Etnies, seriously nothing can beat them. I have two pairs and apart from my work shoes, they are all that I wear.

Leave a Reply

