Waking up

This fails. Not really its fault though

I know I know, another post about sleeping. It’s becoming a recurring theme, and I should probably make it a category. Hopefully this will be the last one though, as I struggle with the groggy demon that plagues my waking hours. This time I’m going to revisit something that’s becoming a bit more of an issue than before; waking up.

I moved the time my alarm goes up forward to 7am. I did this because I figured that my body takes 2 hours to realise that the alarm has gone off and thus I’d then wake up at 8am. I also made a deal with myself that I’d get out of bed when the alarm went off, and not bother trying to hit the snooze button. Seems I was wrong on both counts. This was all spurred by me waking up at 2pm yesterday, which is frankly disgusting.

And so my alarm went off at 7am, and I hit the snooze button in that half awake state that programs your mind with just one want, one need; to grab as many more minutes of dozing as you can clutch with your greedy, lazy eyes. Three hours later I woke up, to find I’d turned on my computer in a wild flailing attempt to grab onto something in the waking world, forcing me to leave my snuggly prison. Obviously, it failed, and I was forced to rush to the kitchen, make some toast, get dressed and head to the gym before my mind figured it was too late.

I’m really not sure what my next step shall be in the war on unconsciousness. Despite rousing me, my alarm seems to ultimately fail in securing the territory of wakefulness. Obviously that preliminary invasion is only enough to make things worse, removing any governance my tyrannical dream-mind had over me, turning me into some petulant snooze-hitter. It’s a sorry state of affairs. Maybe I need a change of approach, the sort of change I could believe in.

About Phill Cameron

I've graduated, had a look at the world, and spat. Now I'm devoting my time to moving from 3/4 of a games journalist to 9/10ths. I figure I can get away with 9/10ths.
This entry was posted in Misc and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Waking up

  1. Seniath says:

    Is your alarm a “beep beep” affair, or one of those clock/radio types?

    I find the latter is much better for the gradual wake-up it seems you are looking for. Instead of hitting snooze to silence the infuriating beeps, your still-asleep self will doze through the ramblings of whichever breakfast show you chose to tune into, slowly waking up in the process.

    Also, since you have 1000 Awesome Things on your blogroll, I presume you’ve read this, but others may not so I shall link to it all the same.

  2. xthepoisonedspongex says:

    I actually hadn’t read that one, but it is startlingly close to what I’ve just written. Now I see why my lecturers sometimes accuse me of plaguerism.

  3. chriswales says:

    I find that blasting some loud rock music is enough to get you out of bed. Usually because it scares the shit out of you with you going “wtf was that?!” 😀

  4. Seniath says:

    As a follow up to my earlier post, following the radio route also runs you the risk of doing what I did this morning; dozing through the alarm, not waking up enough to consciously switch it from alarm mode (where it plays the radio for just an hour) to actually on, and then falling straight back into deep sleep. In the end, Katie woke me up at about 5 to 8, demanding some food. Suffice to say, my morning was rather hurried, and I feel like crap now.

    The side effect of this is that you can get some really vivid dreams in that hour of sleep. This morning I dreamt about a mix of Buffy, an old Cyber Café I used to frequent and a fish trapped in a little pool in my car. Yes.

Leave a Reply

