Routine

Routine isn't as exciting as this, but it's just as cool.

I’m back on the horse, so to speak. The autumn semester has started, I’ve sorted myself out with a job and I’m not sleeping half the day away, and it’s all thanks to Routine, that benevolent overlord that tells you when to do stuff without you even having to think about it. I think a lack of a Routine is probably the entire source of my boredom over the past three months. Some of that boredom was assuaged by going to the gym, forming some sort of rudimentary routine, but this is an entirely different beast.

My alarm is starting to work. I think it’s because I know that staying in bed all day will mean that I’m likely to miss out on all sorts of important things, like lectures, seminars and work shifts, but I also like to think that I’ve claimed mastery over the frustrating device. Because of this I can get up at 8am, have a coffee, turn on my computer and wake up over an hour checking emails and finding out all of the things that went on while I was asleep.

You see that one hour that I can have just to myself as I wake up is one of the best of the day. The entire house is asleep and I’m just sauntering from room to room as I slip from groggy to tired to spry to frisky. By the time the coffee is finished and I’ve had my shower, I’m ready for the day. And, now that I’ve got my semester timetable and my work shift is starting to form, I know exactly what to do with my day. It’s true that if you know what you’re doing then you can spend more time doing what you want.

Now that I’ve got a day filled with stuff to do, those times where I can do stuff to relax are far more relaxing than before. I’m rarely bored and when I am I rather enjoy it. Hell, it’s only been since Friday that I’ve been ‘doing stuff’, but it’s damn nice to have a plan again. So I’ll just head on ahead and keep everything tightly controlled. That’s the way to go forward, until the inevitable moment when something happens to make it all fall apart. But even then the chaos is rather fun.

Not to mention that in just a week I get to redesign the banner for the page and pick a new layout. It’s the simple things in life that keep us entertained, and I just realised this post is becoming a little too smug and chirpy, so I’ll draw it to a close.

About Phill Cameron

I've graduated, had a look at the world, and spat. Now I'm devoting my time to moving from 3/4 of a games journalist to 9/10ths. I figure I can get away with 9/10ths.
This entry was posted in Misc and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

