The Casual Criminal

Watch out, bobby's about.

Everyone is a criminal. I’ve never met anyone who hasn’t broken some sort of law at some point in their lives. This means that everyone has a deep-seated guilt about something, and this is why no one likes the police. I think. Basically I like to call the normal plebians the ‘Casual Criminal’. Mainly because they commit these acts without plan, and without thought. They are commiting illegal acts purely out of convinience, or ignorance.

I was cycling home today from University. I’m a terrible cyclist, I’ll be the first to admit. I cut in front of cars, I run lights if I can get away with it, and I hold up people behind me. This usually isn’t out of malicious intent, more I just like to go fast, and everything slowing me down is merely an obstacle in my way. Now, what this means is that I’m breaking the law mutiple times before I get to my destination. Because of this, I’m pretty nervous whenever I see a policeman while I’m on my bike.

They don’t want to arrest me. I’ve yet to see a single one give me a second glance. But they know I’m acting a little shifty for a reason; no one stares at the police with that mixture of elation at not being arrested and nervousness that their luck is about to run out without actually having done something. Everyone I know acts like this around the police, it’s as though it’s ingrained into our soul.

I like to think the police of today are like the priests of yesterday. Centuries ago people were shit scared they were going to hell, so they constantly went to the priests, who had the power to atone them of their sins. However, it was this power that made people hate and fear the priests so much. Today, people don’t put nearly so much stock in God, and so they fear temporal power far more. Hence the fear and resentment of the police.

I think the main problem with this is that the crimes people commit on a day-to-day basis aren’t moral. They’re there to make everyone’s lives easier, but they don’t actually dwell in the sphere of ethics. Dropping chewing gum on the pavement isn’t going to affect anyone beyond mild annoyance at getting something on their shoe. These are just things ‘decent’ people do. So most people ignore these laws and do them anyway.

I don’t know what a better alternative would be; if they were made legal, then they would become present everywhere. If they were to be more strongly enforced, people would cry policestate. It’s a conundrum, but it still doesn’t make the situation we’re in now any better. I guess people were just born to be guilty.

About Phill Cameron

I've graduated, had a look at the world, and spat. Now I'm devoting my time to moving from 3/4 of a games journalist to 9/10ths. I figure I can get away with 9/10ths.
This entry was posted in Misc and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Casual Criminal

  1. nuyan says:

    Couple of days I ago I cycled through a red light, policeman next to me (which I didn’t see in time) said something, but I ‘pretended’ I didn’t hear (earphones and music, I didn’t know what he actually said) it and cycled away.

    But actually, I’ve no idea if a police officer would give a fine for throwing stuff or going through red with a bicycle. I’ve no idea to be honest. Would they just reprimand me and nothing more or?

    I’ve never really felt the need for police on the streets. I’m okay with it really, got nothing against cops. But since a couple of years there has been this constant public cry of ‘more blue on street’ etc, as if you’d suddenly feel safer with police on the street. I don’t know, perhaps I just live in a good neighborhood.

Leave a Reply

