The Wednesday Exercise

I wonder if I can get away with using this twice.

As per last week, I shall slip through the grip of trying to figure out what to write today by doing something I’ve already written. Take that original thought! So yes, today I shall transpose the best bit of writing I did today in my Creative Writing seminar. This week’s topic was dialouge, and I was frankly astonished at how badly everyone else writes it. I mean, dialouge should be the easiest thing to write. We do it all the time! You don’t describe hills all the time! Dialouge is really, the most accurate and natural part of writing.

He pulled the headphones out of his ears at the tap on his shoulder. “John? It is you isn’t it? Lord, it’s been forever! I thought you’d moved away!”

“Err.. sorry, I can’t place your face.” He glanced away.

“Janice. We worked together in January, then you got laid off.”

“Oh, thanks for the memory.” There was a pause and a sigh. “So… did you get your hair cut or something?” She rolled her eyes.

“You still don’t recognise me do you. That’s ok, I had a lot of work done recently. It’s actually rather flattering you don’t know me. See, look, new nose, new hair, and I lose a lot of wieght.”

“Congratulations.” Another pause. “So you’re still working… there?”

“No. You can’t remember where you were working less than a year ago can you? It’s really not that hard you know…” An eyebrow raised.

“Yes I can. But I have a lot of jobs, and they change a lot. Tends to happen when you’re a technician. Lots of positions, none of them permanent.”

“Oh, well, I’m headed into the centre of town for another shoot. Managed to get Gideon to give it to me for a birthday present. I was twenty six last Tuesday, you see.” He raised an eyebrow.

“Happy birthday.” He paused. “Here, have a mint.” She raised a hand in refusal. “I’m probably doing the backstage stuff for your gig. Is it in The Warf?” She shook her head.

“No, The Warehouse. Oh well, nevermind. Hey! You know Tara, Gregor’s girlfriend?” He shrugged. “Well, Pippa told me she was having an affair with one of the foot guys!”

“Great. Gossip circles will survive another week.” There was a soft ring as someone pressed the stop button. “This is my stop.” He rose.

“But The Warf is at least 6 miles away…”

“I like the walk.” With that, he left.

About Phill Cameron

I've graduated, had a look at the world, and spat. Now I'm devoting my time to moving from 3/4 of a games journalist to 9/10ths. I figure I can get away with 9/10ths.
This entry was posted in Fiction and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

