One Month

So that’s it, the first month of writing something every day done. What have I learnt so far? It’s not as hard as I’d feared, but not as easy as I’d hoped. It’s also not entirely been the godsend that I wanted it to be. But that’s one I’m going to have to explain. Because you’re not in my head, I don’t think.

I wanted this to be a sort of whetstone, to be improve my writing itself, and to make my mind more creative and useful as a writing tool. I need to be pitching articles more than I’m writing them, even, at the moment, if I’m going to get anywhere on my own rather than some miraculous job, of which there seem to be scant few. I’ve heard that I’m trying to get into this business of games writing at one of the worst times to do it, but it’s not like I’ve got many more options, so, for better or worse, that’s what I’m going to be trying at.

So as far as getting my creative juices flowing a little more freely, sure, that’s happened, but only in so much as thinking up bloody blog posts every day. I’m not sure if that’s what’s happening, and I’m actually having more original and interesting ideas now than before, or if this is some sort of base line that I naturally sit at, and the quality of the ideas are pretty rudimentary. Of course I’ve had one or two every week or so, but that doesn’t feel like anything beyond what I had before, so is it all worth it? Who knows. I just know that I’ve amassed probably about fifteen thousand words over the past month, and that’s something, I guess.

And I’m kind of happy with that, on its own. It’s shown that I can do it, and, if anything, it’s provided a little more structure to my day. And, more importantly, I’ve at least tried to think of something worthwhile every day to talk about, beyond some mundane musing on daily routine, which was what I’d set out to do in the first place. So there’s that. And, finally, it’s given me a medium for some thoughts I’ve been having for a while, and allowed me to highlight a few things that I talk about often with friends, but never really explored on my own, in my own space. Writing’s pretty great for that sort of thing.

If you’ve been reading this every day, thanks, hope it hasn’t been too hit and miss so far, and I make no promises for the month ahead. I think if I can make it past February that’d be quite the thing, a round sixty to call my own. We could aim even higher; triple figures always look good. To the moon! Etc.

We’ll see.

About Phill Cameron

I've graduated, had a look at the world, and spat. Now I'm devoting my time to moving from 3/4 of a games journalist to 9/10ths. I figure I can get away with 9/10ths.
This entry was posted in OneADay and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

